Translating

ukflag

For this task I was asked to translate a transcript for a ‘Mentoring Programme’ which consisted of a 14 page document that I translated from English to Spanish. For this I teamed up with one of my classmates; I translated the first half and he translated the second. This made it a lot easier because I only had 7 pages to translate.

The Mentoring Programme is a guidance tool with a set of lesson plans and resource packs on how a mentor can teach students the skills to become good employees.  The document included methods of teaching communication skills, how to work effectively either in a group or individually and additional skills a good employee should have such as reflecting. They made this interesting by adding fun activities and colourful pictures.

Before translating I first read through the transcript to fully understand the information given and the purpose of the text. Next, I thought about whether I was going to translate as I went along or pick out certain pages first. To begin with I tried to translate a short page in order to see how I felt about the level of difficulty. Then I realised that it would be better to translate in order because it was giving me information that I hadn’t translated yet. When I came across a word that would have multiple translations I used the most common and made sure that I used the same translation if that word came up again.

The only problem I had during the translation was trying to translate the pictures. I had to try various different methods until I found one that was suitable. Translating this transcript was great practice for me because I want to do Translation Studies at University. I didn’t find the wording hard at all which made it much more pleasant to work through. It also was educational for me because I learned new skills that I can put to use in my daily life.

I’m excited to get the chance to do more translation in the future which will hopefully give me more experience and skills.

 

Leave a Reply

