Futurelearn

ukflag

I’d never done an MOOC course prior to doing my 2 week course with Futurelearn and I didn’t know what to expect but I have to say it was quite enjoyable! MOOC is an acronym for massive, open, online course so as you can imagine one of its primary focuses is to allow people to express their ideas and communicate with others online. The course involved completing mini tasks to further our understanding of communicating online and there were small quizzes at the end of each topic to test our knowledge which I found particularly useful- I like to know what I need to do in order to progress.

The first week focused on how to behave online and understanding terms used online; we were provided with a downloadable glossary which I will no doubt use again in the future. I’m not the most knowledgeable when it comes to technology so this glossary was particularly helpful! It was also concerned with finding your ideal learning environment which for me happened to be sitting in bed with a cinnamon scented candle… although I was already in this ‘Zen’ zone before starting the course.

My favourite part of the course was week 2 because this is where we got to engage with other learners and express our own opinions. My favourite task in particular was ‘The Wicked Question’ which regarded sharing our ideas on how to tackle the issue of profuse fabric waste. I always thought that I learned best individually but perhaps not because this task really inspired me. The reason being it was tackling a real life issue which is important to talk about not some mundane discussion about whether the college Starbucks should be expanded. However with the motivating came the frustrating. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what was going on with the course’s shared Google Docs about our favourite musicians so sadly I had to skip that task. That’s the disadvantage of group documents, there is little organisation and it can be hard to decipher what you’re meant to write and where one contributor’s writing ends and another’s begins.

Regardless of this the Futurelearn course was a fresh new experience and if nothing else it has inspired me to pursue more online learning resources and I now know what a VLE is!

1 thought on “Futurelearn”

  1. Hi Ellen, I enjoyed reading your post. I also had never done a MOOC before this blog but that didn’t put me off, it intrigued me to find out more. i think you will agree that it was easy to use and understand, except the task about your favorite musician which you could be right about. I fell this has prepared me and opened me to be more confident in online learning, and I’m glad you pointed out about the VLE because now i also know too. you never realize how much information you retain or things you know until you put it to the test!

    Like

Leave a Reply

