079257

ukflag

Hello there! I’m Ellen and I study three A Levels at Halesowen College those being Creative Writing, Philosophy and Sociology. I wish I could say that I chose these subjects because they would put me on a certain career path however this slightly unusual selection was chosen with little consideration of the future. I honestly don’t really have any plans for the future in relation to jobs. I chose these subjects because they were appealing and I knew that I would enjoy them.

I’ve only had previous experience studying sociology as I did it at Secondary School. It was one of my strongest subjects so it made sense for me to continue it at college. Before I went to the Open Day at college I had no idea that there was a course for creative writing so when I found out I was very excited indeed. Although I was a bit out of practice when I applied, it has always been a hobby of mine especially as a kid when I had more time on my hands. I’ve been finding my love for writing again and I feel like I’m progressing which is great! Then there’s philosophy, I hadn’t done any philosophy at all before starting the course so it was a bit of a risk, however ever since I got accepted to college it was the subject I was most looking forward to. It’s just as interesting as I expected despite being quite dry in some topic areas. There are only so many times you can try and defend ‘naive realism’ when the fact of the matter is the theory has more holes than a block of Swiss cheese, but all in all it’s wonderful. I have many passions outside of college too some of them being my black lipstick, my boyfriend’s cat and garlic bread. I’m a pretty big fan of painting too. I really enjoy painting animals above anything else because I think that they’re fascinating and a lot more aesthetically pleasing than people! I’m a dog owner but a cat person and animal welfare is an issue close to my heart. I would love to contribute more to this cause in the future especially regarding farmed animals because I feel that their well-being is often disregarded. In my leisure time I like to watch films and play games with my friends but if I’m on my own I like to do my makeup or watch YouTube videos. I’m getting more into reading now too since I finished ‘Interview with the Vampire’ by Anne Rice; I adore that book and I’d strongly recommend it. That’s pretty much all I have to say for now. Well done for persevering until the end!

Leave a Reply

