000111

ukflag

Hi, I’m Jamie and I am the European Projects Officer for Halesowen College. I’ve worked at the College for over 10 years and started in the Library. I’m still there but my role has developed and now I divide my time between European projects, Equality and Diversity projects and the Library.

Prior to the College I have worked at a number of other educational institutions; South Birmingham College, St.Philip’s Sixth Form College and the University of Birmingham. I struggled at secondary school and just made it to University where I completed a Creative Arts degree. I then worked in theatres for a number of years before needing something more financially stable.

In the 10 years I have been at the College I have undertaken many courses and I have experience learning in different ways. The courses include First Aid, Teaching, Librarian Chartership, Diploma in Management and more. I have studied at the colleges main site, Coombs Wood (another HC campus) and externally. Even when not on formal courses I find myself learning every day, whether this is from colleagues, managers or students. I am passionate about the College and my work and I don’t feel I work for individual departments but for the College as a whole. Watching students develop and achieve is a wonderful experience, their success in whatever way is the reason I do what I do.

Outside of College, I have a young family which keeps me extremely busy but I love every moment of it. I love to swim, especially outdoors in reservoirs although it is a little cold at this time of year! Generally, I enjoying trying new things, whether it be foods, places to visit or new shops. I like New Balance trainers, crocodiles, pancakes and lying on a hot beach hearing the sea (although not all at the same time). I dislike wasps, oysters and being dizzy.

 

Leave a Reply

